Grand Slam of Ultrarunning

The Grand Slam of Ultrarunning™ award is recognition for those who complete four of the oldest 100 mile trail runs in the U.S. The “Slam” consists of officially finishing the Western States 100 Mile Endurance Run, the Vermont 100 Mile Endurance Run, the Leadville Trail 100 Mile Run and the Wasatch Front 100 Mile Endurance Run all in the same year. The idea of running the four oldest 100 mile trail runs in the country came from Fred Pilon of Ultrarunning Magazine back in 1985. He Called Steve Baugh who was the race director of the Wasatch Front 100 Mile Endurance Run at the time. Since Wasatch was the final race of the four it seemed natural for the Wasatch 100 to organize the Grand Slam and have awards in conjunction with Wasatch’s awards ceremony. Steve collaborated with John Grobben, current and long standing Wasatch 100 race director, and they came up with the name Grand Slam of Ultrarunning and established it in in cooperation with the race directors of the other races involved. The first Grand Slam award was given to Tom Green in 1986. The Wasatch 100 has continued organizing and managing the event since that time.Note: When Vermont began in 1989, it became an alternate to Old Dominion as one of the four 100-milers. Also, the Old Dominion cutoff was 30 hours in 1986, 1987 and 1988. It was lowered to 24 hours in 1989 and 1990 and has been 28 hours in 1991 and later. In 2002, the Old Dominion Memorial was allowed to substitute for the original Old Dominion, which took a one-year “sabbatical”. Starting in 2003, the Old Dominion (and the Old Dominion Memorial) is no longer allowed to be one of the four 100s. In 2008, Western States was cancelled (due to fires) and the Arkansas Traveler became the fourth race.

The Last Great Race

The Last Great Race consists of the Grand Slam (above) IN ADDITION to the Angeles Crest 100 Mile Endurance Run and the Old Dominion 100 Mile Cross Country Run.
The award was first given in 1989, and completed only 36 times by 33 runners (29 men; 4 women).  There were no attempts/awards in 2002, 2008 and 2009 (fires), or in 2012 (AC and VT on same weekends).

External References

The Grand Slam of Ultrarunning (Stan Jensen’s Run 100’s Website)
The Grand Slam of Ultrarunning Results (Realendurance.com Website)
The Last Great Race (Stan Jensen’s Run 100’s Website)
Grand Slam of Ultrarunning 2014 (Facebook Group – Closed)
Application for the Grand Slam (Application from Stan Jensen’s Website as PDF)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s