Disappointed

After yesterday’s Mt Disappointment 50 miler, I feel worse than I’ve felt after a race in a long time. If anything, I’m usually fine after a shower, food, and a good night’s sleep. Not only do I feel really beat up, I suffered from the biggest blister I’ve gotten ever in my life. I usually never get blisters, so it’s pretty unusual for me — I think it was because I was compensating for my weak ankle that I originally injured at San Diego a couple months back that I rolled again about 4 miles in.

The weather was hot, but not as bad as I thought it would be. My nutrition and hydration was good, but because of my foot/ankle issues, I had to walk a lot of the downhills, especially coming down from Shortcut via the Silver Moccasin.

I was hoping this would be my last training run before AC, but think I’ll need another run before then to build my confidence. If my foot heals in time, I may do the training run this weekend, but will likely wait until I mark the Bulldog 50K course the following weekend, then perhaps do the last official AC training run on the 31st.

 

CIMG6089.JPG
CIMG6092.JPG
2 comments

  1. Hi Andy, I was the woman recording runners at Josephine’s Saddle during the race… and called out “Hey, I know you, you’re AK!” I’m sorry you had a rough race; you looked really strong and fresh when I saw you.

    I’m also a local CrossFitter out of Eric’s Monrovia Academy and an aspiring endurance runner. I’ve been reading yours and Catra’s blogs for months now and hope I have a chance to meet you and chat one of these days!

Leave a Reply

