The Mystery Pain

Ok…everyone’s had it at some point or another.  After a training session or race, you feel something strange in your foot or leg, it doesn’t hurt at first, but it’s uncomfortable — it just doesn’t feel right.  A little while later, the discomfort turns to pain, and your original action of ignoring it, now turns into concern.  You try and “walk it off”, but you realize that it’s more serious than you originally thought.  You wonder what you could’ve done to cause it — too much mileage perhaps, or maybe you ran/raced too hard.  So you pop some Ibuprofen and start some RICE.  Eventually, it just goes away, almost as quickly as it appeared.  What caused it?  What could you do to prevent it in the future?  Without being able to answer the “what”, how can you prevent “it” from happening again? 

Last Tuesday morning, 2 days after running 60 miles at Leadville, I woke up and my foot was throbbing.  I thought I had slept wrong, and was just pins-and-needles, but it wasn’t.  When I got out of bed, I almost screamed in pain when I stood on it, and soon realized I could not put any weight on the entire front part of my left foot.  I basically hobbled around, while walking on my heel for 2 whole days.  The pain finally started going away on the third day, and was able to walk without a significant limp.  On the fourth day, it was pretty much back to normal.  The day after that, was when I had to mark the Bulldog course, so was concerned about my “injury” returning.  I decided to bike it to try and stay off my feet as much as possible, but ended up doing quite a bit of walking/hiking.  My foot did start aching towards the latter part of the course, but think it was more due to having my feet crammed into uncomfortable bike shoes and scrambling over uneven terrain in them than because of my recent “injury”.

Either tomorrow or Thursday, I’ll be going out for my first run since Leadville, so it’ll be the first test to see how my foot feels.  Hopefully it’ll be ok, since Wasatch is only 10 days away.

3 comments

  1. I don’t know, Andy…throbbing in the foot? Top, bottom? Nerve inflamed? Morton? Stress reaction in the bones of the foot?Talking about weird injuries – where the heck did mine come from? Out of nowhere…

  2. I don’t know, Andy…throbbing in the foot? Top, bottom? Nerve inflamed? Morton? Stress reaction in the bones of the foot?Talking about weird injuries – where the heck did mine come from? Out of nowhere…

  3. I don’t know, Andy…throbbing in the foot? Top, bottom? Nerve inflamed? Morton? Stress reaction in the bones of the foot?Talking about weird injuries – where the heck did mine come from? Out of nowhere…

Leave a Reply

