Study on altitude

Interesting timing on Greg Crowther’s blog about altitude and its effects on athletes.  In 2005, when I was able to successfully complete Leadville, I arrived 6 days prior to the race.  This year, which resulted in getting timed out at Twin Lakes (2 hours behind my pace), I got to altitude only 2 days before.  Even though I felt that I was physically in better condition, I struggled whenever the course went above 10.5k’.  It took me an hour longer to climb up the backside of Hope this year, and combined with the earlier climb out to Winfield, zapped every ounce of energy I had that I needed to complete the race.  I’m certain that even if I made the cutoff, I most-likely would’ve eventually gotten timed out at one of the later aid stations.

Therefore, based on my personal experience, I can conclude that even a little bit of time spent acclimating is better than nothing.

Leave a Reply

