Blue Planet Run == road/speed run

Yesterday, the Blue Planet Run came through LA, after touching down in San Francisco earlier this week, and heading down the coast to SoCal. I was hoping to see my friend Dot, but turned out that she’s on the late shift (3-8am), so didn’t get to unfortunately. I did manage to pace two other runners on the team — Simon Isaacs and Sunila Jayaraj. Initially, there was another runner accompanying Simon coming out of the 3rd St Promenade, but we ended up dropping him after a couple minutes. It was no surprise, as we were maintaining, a sub 7 min/mi pace — which was still relatively slow for a 2:20 marathoner. Good thing the next exchange point was only a few miles, since I wasn’t sure how long I would’ve able to keep up with him. Turned out though, that Sunila, who I ended up running the rest of the way with was also maintaining a pretty fast pace, commenting that he usually covers his 10 mile sections in just over an hour. Ok, so I got my speed work in before Leadville, although I wasn’t really anticipating doing one. It was fun chatting with them, although they were doing most of the talking while I was trying to catch my breath. I ran with Sunila until just after the Marina bridge, then turned around and headed back to my car.

Founder Jin Zidell

Brynn Harrington ready to pass the baton to Simon

Simon passes the baton to Sunila

3 comments

  1. Bummer you didn’t see Dot, and sub-7 miles – yikes! Sounds like fun times you had, now pack up and get ready to hack up a alung:)

  2. Bummer you didn’t see Dot, and sub-7 miles – yikes! Sounds like fun times you had, now pack up and get ready to hack up a alung:)

  3. Bummer you didn’t see Dot, and sub-7 miles – yikes! Sounds like fun times you had, now pack up and get ready to hack up a alung:)

Leave a Reply

