YAWB (Yet Another Wine Bar)

Last night, we attended the newest addition to Old Pasadena, called Red, White, and Bluezz on the N/E corner of Raymond and Green where Spencer’s used to be.  From the street, it’s hard to determine how large the venue is until you go there and see that there’s a whole separate lounge area in the rear (entrance is on Green), which is where they have live bands on Thurs/Fri/Sat nights.  Currently, the dining areas are not connected, but the plan is to eventually join them somehow — a common kitchen has access to both sections however.

I have to say the food there was much better than I had anticipated, although it was a bit on the pricey side.  Between all of us, we had the following:

  • Fried Mac’ N Cheese
  • Duo Beef Sliders
  • Maryland Blue Crab Cakes
  • Their Signature Watermelon and Maytag Blue Cheese Salad
  • Kobe Beef Burger
  • Kurobuta Pork Chop
  • Free-Range Airline Chicken Breast

I never would’ve thought I’d say this, but the salad was my favorite dish.

I also a wine flight called Monster Reds, which included:

  • Snowden “Lost Vineyard” Cabernet
  • Quivira Zinfandel
  • The Gate Shiraz

I also had an individual glass of a shiraz, but can’t recall which one.  Well, I did not like any of the wine I chose, and actually ended up switching my glass with Marcelo, since he ordered something which was better than what I had.

After our dinner, we walked over to the lounge area where a great 3-piece jazz band was playing, and ordered some drinks and dessert. (Note: if you are looking for a quiet dinner, or wish to have a conversation without having to yell or repeat everything, then I suggest staying in the main dining area.)  They actually have a very nice selection of premium liquor, and even some good imported beer.  I had a glass of Macallan 12 (they also have 18), and the Seasonal Berries in a Coconut Tuile Basket with a Grand Marnier Chantilly Creme.

Needless to say, I ended up leaving with a full stomach, but an empty pocket.

4 comments

  1. My name is Robert Key and I am a runner from Houston, Texas. I saw your blog listed when I was looking through the RBF directory and very much enjoyed reading some of your entries, especially seeing that you are an ultra runner, which is something I want to get into. I have a web site at http://www.faithfulsoles.com that is inspirational stories for walkers, runners and athletes of all ages and abilities. A new feature I have recently added to the site is a categorized and searchable Running Blog Database where members of my site can find a blog of interest to them based on other walkers, runners or athletes of similar abilities, goals and interests. To my knowledge it is the only one of its kind specifically for walkers and runners on the internet. I would appreciate it if you would take a moment to put a link to your blog in our Running Blog Database. Just click on “Link your running blog” under “Free Features” from the home page. If you want to learn more about my running background, just click on “Meet Robert” from the main menu , or to learn more about my involvement in the running community, click on “Faithful Soles in the news” in the left column under “Weekly Features”. I also have a blog that I just started at http://faithfulsoles.blogspot.com, but most of my running information is on my web site. Also, if there is anyone else in your blogger network that you think would be interested in listing their blog, please feel free to pass this information along to them. Thanks and continued good luck in your training.

  2. My name is Robert Key and I am a runner from Houston, Texas. I saw your blog listed when I was looking through the RBF directory and very much enjoyed reading some of your entries, especially seeing that you are an ultra runner, which is something I want to get into. I have a web site at http://www.faithfulsoles.com that is inspirational stories for walkers, runners and athletes of all ages and abilities. A new feature I have recently added to the site is a categorized and searchable Running Blog Database where members of my site can find a blog of interest to them based on other walkers, runners or athletes of similar abilities, goals and interests. To my knowledge it is the only one of its kind specifically for walkers and runners on the internet. I would appreciate it if you would take a moment to put a link to your blog in our Running Blog Database. Just click on “Link your running blog” under “Free Features” from the home page. If you want to learn more about my running background, just click on “Meet Robert” from the main menu , or to learn more about my involvement in the running community, click on “Faithful Soles in the news” in the left column under “Weekly Features”. I also have a blog that I just started at http://faithfulsoles.blogspot.com, but most of my running information is on my web site. Also, if there is anyone else in your blogger network that you think would be interested in listing their blog, please feel free to pass this information along to them. Thanks and continued good luck in your training.

  3. Thanks for reading Robert. I’ll link my blog on your website, and pass your info along to others as well. Hope to get a chance to meet you one day.

  4. Thanks for reading Robert. I’ll link my blog on your website, and pass your info along to others as well. Hope to get a chance to meet you one day.

Leave a Reply

