I passed!


76 out of 100 (70 is passing) was my score on my CCIE (Cisco Certified Internetwork Expert) routing and switching recertification exam I took earlier this evening. This was my fourth time (you have to recertify every 2 years) since I originally got certified in January of 1998, and I dread having to study, since it consumes so much of my time. Less than 3% of all Cisco certified professionals earn their CCIE, with only 4000 in the US, and 14,000 worldwide.

I was especially stressed this year because I procrastinated longer than usual. I was already on suspension, since I waited an additional year to recertify, so if I didn’t pass before the 29th (yes, next week), I would’ve had to start all over and take the lab exam as well.

To prepare, I used a sample test from TestKing, which I highly recommend to anyone attempting any certification exams.

Here’s an actual question that I did get on the exam:

The IP precedence of a packet can be determined from:

A. All 8 bits of the ToS byte
B. Bits 3, 4, and 6 of the ToS byte
C. The three most significant bits of the ToS byte
D. The three least significant bits of the ToS byte

Ok, if you’re curious, the answer is C.

Now back to my normally scheduled life once again…

4 comments

  1. Wow congrats! That is a hard test. I was considering it back when I had my CCNP. I switched into the security role which is what I do now…

  2. Wow congrats! That is a hard test. I was considering it back when I had my CCNP. I switched into the security role which is what I do now…

  3. Thanks Jessica…I think I took a security recert exam one year too, mistakenly thinking it would be easier — boy, was I wrong. See you next weekend!

  4. Thanks Jessica…I think I took a security recert exam one year too, mistakenly thinking it would be easier — boy, was I wrong. See you next weekend!

Leave a Reply

