Adventure Racing Legend Retires

Nike Athlete Ian Adamson Announces Retirement
posted Jan 11, 2007 @ 11:00 AM by Press Release

Ian Adamson, seven time adventure racing world champion and three time world record holder for endurance kayaking, announced today that he is retiring as a full time professional athlete.

Adamson, who twice captured the Guinness World Record for endurance kayaking in 1987 and 2004 by paddling 262 miles in 24 hours was recently named one of Men’s Journal Adventurers of the Year in 2006. His career spanned two decades during which he had three Eco-Challenge and Primal Quest wins, two Raid World Championship and Adventure Race World Championship victories, and gold, silver and bronze medals at the ESPN X-Games and Ford Adventure Games.

As an iconic figure in the world of adventure sports, Adamson balanced his athletic career by directing international endurance events, was the senior contributor at Adventure Sports Magazine, published the seminal “Runner’s World Guide to Adventure Racing” and appeared on television shows including Men’s Journal Adventure Team, Morry Povich, Regis & Cathy Lee, ESPN and CNN World Sports.

“I have always wanted to retire from professional athleticism on a high note and on my own terms” says Adamson. “2006 has been a banner year for our team, with repeat wins at Primal Quest, the Adventure Race World Championships and Raid World Championships, so now is the perfect time to retire. I will remain active in sport through Team Nike, and as a race director and journalist.”

With his focus squarely set on giving back to the sport and community, Adamson is producing the world’s first 24 Hours of Triathlon in Denver, CO and re-igniting his corporate speaking and training career.

For information visit IanAdamson.com, 24hoursoftriathlon.com or contact Ian Adamson at ian@ianadamson.com or 303-875-1467.

4 comments

  1. Quite a few people assume retirement for adventure racers is heresay, but in my case, this is the first and only retirement.I actually made a mistake in the press release, pretty minor, but my first 24 hour record was in 1997, and for those of you who like trivia, the record I broke was set on the Vistula River in Poland in 1987. My first Guinness record was 203 miles on the Colorado River, from below Gore Canyon, CO to above Moab, UT. You can Google Earth the route, its a pretty cool fly through.So much for trivia. I’ll be up for more fun stuff, maybe even the 24 hour open ocean kayak record somewhere like Hawaii during the trade winds.For now life revolves around corporate speaking & training, and producing 24 Hours of Triathlon (do you see a 24 hour theme here?) http://www.24hoursoftriathlon.comAndy, get in touch with Neal Jamison (Running Through the Wall) and publish some of your exploits!

  2. Quite a few people assume retirement for adventure racers is heresay, but in my case, this is the first and only retirement.I actually made a mistake in the press release, pretty minor, but my first 24 hour record was in 1997, and for those of you who like trivia, the record I broke was set on the Vistula River in Poland in 1987. My first Guinness record was 203 miles on the Colorado River, from below Gore Canyon, CO to above Moab, UT. You can Google Earth the route, its a pretty cool fly through.So much for trivia. I’ll be up for more fun stuff, maybe even the 24 hour open ocean kayak record somewhere like Hawaii during the trade winds.For now life revolves around corporate speaking & training, and producing 24 Hours of Triathlon (do you see a 24 hour theme here?) http://www.24hoursoftriathlon.comAndy, get in touch with Neal Jamison (Running Through the Wall) and publish some of your exploits!

  3. Ian — thanks for your comment and clarification. I’ll just say that adventure racing will not be the same without you, but I’m looking forward to your new pursuits nevertheless.Also, I’m not sure if my exploits are worth publishing in a book, but I do appreciate your suggestion. Finally, if you or anyone else is interested, I have some photos from the last two PQ’s here: Moab and San Juan Islands

  4. Ian — thanks for your comment and clarification. I’ll just say that adventure racing will not be the same without you, but I’m looking forward to your new pursuits nevertheless.Also, I’m not sure if my exploits are worth publishing in a book, but I do appreciate your suggestion. Finally, if you or anyone else is interested, I have some photos from the last two PQ’s here: Moab and San Juan Islands

Leave a Reply

