Former Nike ACG/Balance Bar Athlete Injured

Those who are familiar with adventure racing will know who Danelle Ballengee is — one of the most accomplished female athletes in the world, and a former Nike/ACG teammate, that consisted of Mike Kloser, Michael Tobin, and Ian Adamson. Currently, she is racing with Team Spyder, who is made up of Travis Macy, Dave Mackey and John Jacoby. I was fortunate enough to see her team when we were in Moab during the Primal Quest — she had just come off a ropes section at the Priests and Nuns (see photo below), a few days into the race.

I honestly believe that her background in multi-day expedition races, which involves extreme mental and physical challenges helped her survive two sub-zero nights.

Let’s all wish her a speedy recovery, and if you would like to contact and/or contribute to her fund, you’ll find it listed below.

Here’s an article in the Summit Daily News.

A bedside interview on the Today S how.

From the SCARABS e-mail list:

Some of you may have heard about Danelle and her accident. I just spoke with Gary, her dad, and got some details. She is okay, but is in pain and has a long recovery ahead of her. Danelle was trail running with her dog Taz in Moab and took a fall on black ice near the Amasaback trail. She broke her pelvis and was basically immobilized. Some lucky factors came into place for her though, as she was where someone wouldn’t normally go. She had a couple of gels and some water and was able to get to a puddle for more hydration. Her neighbor called Gary when she happened to notice the lights on at Danelle’s house and Gary called the Moab police. Rescuers found her truck immediately but not her. They searched for her on foot and ATV’s and came closr to not immediately finding her. Danelle ended up spending two nights out in sub zero temperatures and was found on the third day by rescuers who were led to Nellie by Taz. She came close to spending a third night out, which Gary thinks may have been the end of her. She was transported to Grand Junction and is now at Denver General Hospital, where she will have surgery on Tuesday. Obviously, the positive side is that she is okay and alive, but Gary says it will be a long emotional, physical, and financial recovery. She may need help down the road in many ways, so keep your ears open and feel free send a card, give a call, etc. The hardest part may be after surgery when she needs friends most. I hope you are all well.
Dave

She is receiving mail through her friend Michelle:

Michelle Lyons
PO Box 1590
Dillon, CO 80435

Here is the address for contributions to Danelle’s recovery fund:

Mail checks in her name to :
FirstBank,
PO Box 347
Silverthorne, CO 80498
marked “for Ballengee recovery fund”

2 comments

  1. The Latest on BalangeeBy Paul RomeroIt’s been 5 days since a massive surgery put her shattered pelvis back together. I’ve caught the 2 time world champion, snow shoe racing legend, and Ironman competator as she’s just about to endure another brutal physical thereapy session.SM: SleepmonstersDB: DanelleSM: So how they treating you at Denver General Hospital?DB: I’ve been lucky, they are treating me real well. This hospital is super nice.SM: What do you make of this giant outpouring from the AR community, and the media?DB:It’s been unbeivable, it brings tears to my eyes. With the therapy, pain meds, visitors, odd sleep hours, doctors…I’ve been busy. I’ve never been so tired. The pain is immense. I just got off morphine, and can think a bit more clear.Having such a response from the AR world….it means so much to me.SM: Tell us about Taz. What a friend eh?DB: Taz is good, I miss him. He is with my parents. The last I saw him I was petting him as I was going into chopper, and did not see him until the Good Morning America show. He probably thought I died. Now he knows I’m alive. Funny story, he went to my sisters house about a mile from the hospital. Shortly after arriving he jumped the fence and ran back to the hospital and was at the door trying to get in to see me. What a friend.SM: Hows the progress?DB: Progress is slow. My goal is to get from bed to wheelchair, to toilet, then back to bed….It’s not possible now, but I’m striving to get on the wheelchair. It’s odd to have such small goals compared to what is normally a challenge for me. Just sitting up makes me light headed.SM: What about your feet?DB: I can’t feel my feet. But I won’t loose my toes, the doctors tell me.SM: When you going to get out of that place, and get back home?DB: It could be 2 more weeks at best before I get out. I can’t wait. I’m starting to get a little crazy already.SM: If someone wanted to sent you some stuff, what would you want?DB: I would want new books, and some DVD’s. I’m WAY fine on chocolate for now, so hold off a bit. Everyone knows how much I live for chocolate.SM: We are all standing by for news, and we’ll try to keep the world up to date on your progress.DB: Thanks Paul, it’s good to be alive, and I thank the whole AR world for the support.Send some treats or a gift:Denver General Hospital777 Bannock StreetDenver, CO 80204or Better yet, sent $ to help Danelle get ‘back on her feet’:The Danelle Ballengee Fund1st BankDillon, CO. (970) 468-8000or write PO Box 347 Silverthorne, CO 80498

  2. The Latest on BalangeeBy Paul RomeroIt’s been 5 days since a massive surgery put her shattered pelvis back together. I’ve caught the 2 time world champion, snow shoe racing legend, and Ironman competator as she’s just about to endure another brutal physical thereapy session.SM: SleepmonstersDB: DanelleSM: So how they treating you at Denver General Hospital?DB: I’ve been lucky, they are treating me real well. This hospital is super nice.SM: What do you make of this giant outpouring from the AR community, and the media?DB:It’s been unbeivable, it brings tears to my eyes. With the therapy, pain meds, visitors, odd sleep hours, doctors…I’ve been busy. I’ve never been so tired. The pain is immense. I just got off morphine, and can think a bit more clear.Having such a response from the AR world….it means so much to me.SM: Tell us about Taz. What a friend eh?DB: Taz is good, I miss him. He is with my parents. The last I saw him I was petting him as I was going into chopper, and did not see him until the Good Morning America show. He probably thought I died. Now he knows I’m alive. Funny story, he went to my sisters house about a mile from the hospital. Shortly after arriving he jumped the fence and ran back to the hospital and was at the door trying to get in to see me. What a friend.SM: Hows the progress?DB: Progress is slow. My goal is to get from bed to wheelchair, to toilet, then back to bed….It’s not possible now, but I’m striving to get on the wheelchair. It’s odd to have such small goals compared to what is normally a challenge for me. Just sitting up makes me light headed.SM: What about your feet?DB: I can’t feel my feet. But I won’t loose my toes, the doctors tell me.SM: When you going to get out of that place, and get back home?DB: It could be 2 more weeks at best before I get out. I can’t wait. I’m starting to get a little crazy already.SM: If someone wanted to sent you some stuff, what would you want?DB: I would want new books, and some DVD’s. I’m WAY fine on chocolate for now, so hold off a bit. Everyone knows how much I live for chocolate.SM: We are all standing by for news, and we’ll try to keep the world up to date on your progress.DB: Thanks Paul, it’s good to be alive, and I thank the whole AR world for the support.Send some treats or a gift:Denver General Hospital777 Bannock StreetDenver, CO 80204or Better yet, sent $ to help Danelle get ‘back on her feet’:The Danelle Ballengee Fund1st BankDillon, CO. (970) 468-8000or write PO Box 347 Silverthorne, CO 80498

Leave a Reply

